Commended for his versatility, Ian has worked across the spectrum of the music industry – from the creative genesis of a project, to working with legendary Grammy Award-winning artists (Dionne Warwick, Take 6), to conducting orchestras (London Symphony Orchestra).
Ian started playing the piano by ear at the tender age of four, his first song being ‘Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star’ in the very lowest register of the piano. Since then, having completed grade exams with Trinity College of Music, he recieved a bachelor of arts degree in Music Theory & Composition from Point Loma Nazarene University, San Diego, California where he studied with prolific American composer, Phillip Keveren (Hal Leonard Publishing) and has written a full-length children’s musical ‘One More Chance: The Story of Jonah’ which premiered before a standing-room-only audience in San Diego’s Crill Auditorium in April 1998.
Throughout the course of his career, Ian has travelled and performed in more than sixty countries on five continents as a pianist, composer, orchestrator, conductor and musical director. Through such experiences, he has acquired a unique multi-cultural perspectivewhich is reflected in his credits featuring the musical genres classical, gospel, jazz and hip-hop – one notable such being his string arrangement for Stormzy’s 2017 performance of ‘Blinded by Your Grace Pt. 2’ on the X-Factor which had an estimated 6 million viewers.
His extensive experience on stage and in theatre has gained national industry recognition with the 2020 Musical Director Recognition Award from the Black British Theatre Awards, a ceremony which was televised by Sky Arts in the United Kingdom. His creativity as a composer and arranger are indispensable assets in the development of new stage productions such as the 2019 UK Tour of ‘Respect: The Aretha Franklin Songbook’, a first-run show created by award-winning producer, Adrian Grant, creator of Thriller Live! in London’s West End starring the likes of Amber Riley, Mica Paris and Jaki Graham.
In 2019, Ian worked as the orchestrator on the beautifully crafted, evocative score of British film composer, Christopher Barnett, for the movie ‘A Dose of Happiness’. The award-winning movie, directed by Yana Titova, was the number one Bulgarian production in 2019, winning numerous awards.
Ian was the orchestrator and pianist on the song ‘Times Like These’ by Charlie Hines Produced by Tim Miner in the film ‘The Christmas Masterpiece’ which received an honourable mention for best song in the 2020 Los Angeles Film awards.

Experience within the Industry:

6 plus years


  • Arranger  /
  • Composer  /
  • Creatives  /
  • Instruments  /
  • Keyboardist  /
  • Musical Director  /
  • Musician  /
  • Orchestrator  /
  • Pianist  /
  • Post Production

Video Links:

You may also be interested in

Carmen Wright


Matt Woodhead

Lauren Yvonne Townsend

Joshua Black

Jasmine M Eccles

Pierre Hanson-Johnson

Miss Hazel Jade

Zuna Newman

D McQue

Appointed Oyediran

Francesca Henry

Mbulelo Austin Ndabeni

HR The Old Vic

Tiffany King

Malik Dapaah

Joyce Fraser


Ysanne Tidd

Joy E Fraser

Brigid Larmour

Kyle Flaherty

Mykal Rand

Makeda Ansah

Alan Watty-Miller

Kai Jolley

Travis Austin Wright

Amede Unuabona

Ryan Francois

Ricardo P Lloyd

Nina Kristofferson

Loz Tait

Simone Ibbett-Brown

Tanisha Spring

Evadne Bygrave

Coco Mbassi

Corey Campbell

Ama Owusu-Afriyie

Carli De’La Hughes

Shak Gabbidon-Williams

Steve-Jamal Azémar

Marie-Jude Salomon

Emile Ruddock

Lekhani Chirwa

Christina Ngoyi

Nicola Rossiter

Lucy Steward

Denzel Westley-Sanderson

Stacy Abalogun

George Sesay

Fiona Cousineau

Marikah Pierre

Adam Koren

Obioma Ugoala

Nadine Lee

Simon Lee

Ivano Turco

Patrick Mckenzie

Israel Soares

Marcia Lecky

Lucy Banfield

Vivienne Ekwulugo

Henry Marquez

George Daniel Long

Waylon Jacobs

Chanelle Anthony

Chuchu Nwagu

Alishia Blake

David Norwood

Maya Elliott

Sharla Smith

Grace Anyiam

Cleve September

Raquel Jones

Melanie Oghene

Nick Charters

Jemma Geanaus

Benjamin kawenya

Rochelle Sherona

Ameena Hamid

Tesia Childs

Max McMillan Ngwenya

Colleen Morris -Glennon

Destiny Sullivan

Aaron Moore

Jerrell L Henderson

Gloria Onitiri

Titilola Dawudu

Niah Davies

Heather Agyepong

Pete Foster

Jamayla Wedderburn

Darren J. Benjamin

Ian Oakley

Sadie-Jean Shirley

Mark Holden

Joycelyn Manu

Nicole Castillo-Mavromatis

Yana Penrose

Tamara Camacho

Shenice Osisioma

Sarah Dodd

Cavin Cornwall

Michael Joseph

Debra Michaels

Dollie Henry

Talawa Theatre Company Limited

Lolade Ajala

Omar Shozi

Bohemian Beaumont Films

Michael Knight Theatre Company

David Andre

Cedric Neal

Jonathan Andrew Hume

Angeline Bell

Paulette Randall MBE

Lory Mpiana

Modupe Salu

Scenesaver by Caroline Friedman

Juliet Garricks

Alasdair Hankinson

Trish Wadley

Paul Willcocks

Ian Carlyle

Daryl Richardson

Tobi Kyeremateng

Carol Harvey-Barnes

Witney White

Candice Edmunds

Jasmine Rachelle

Juliet Gough

Billy Nevers

Linda Wachaga

Rosie Jane

Tamara Gough

Juel Vas

Farida Pashi

Shadé Reynolds

Jayne Aguire

Annabel Mutale Reed

Corinna Brown

Gleanne Purcell-Brown

Toyan Thomas-Browne

Sandra Marvin

Lydia Fraser

Kwami Odoom

Lebogang Fisher

Izabelle Lee

Maisey Bawden

Germma Orleans-Thompson

Paul Hazel

Hannah Abdool

Sean Green

Duane Gooden

Natalie Dickmann

Amanda Huxtable

June Stephenson

Kwame Owusu

Camilla Case

Mary Moore

Natalie Pryce

Nari Blair-Mangat

Emmanuelle N’zuzi

Elliott Bornemann

merryn owen

Kai-Daniel Augustin

Hannah Last

Hannah Last

ruth oyediran

Cecile Mulombe Mbombo

Cassiopeia Berkeley-Agyepong

Phillippe Cato

Elaine Smithers

James Scotland

Carly Woodbridge

Emmanuela Adebisi

silvia carrideo

Khadifa Wong

Ayesha Antoine

Sabira Stanisavljevic

Dammi Aregbeshola

Sule Rimi

Christopher Freeman

Abena Louisa D B St Bartholomew-Brown Morgan

Constance Oak

David Gilbert

Debra Tidd

Onuri Smith

Nicola Blackman

Mandy Smith

Tiata Fahodzi

Micallar Walker

Trevor A Toussaint

David Blake

Stephen Jameson

Jason Brock

Stephanie Stevens

Dominic Powell

Chantelle King’Ori

Ingrid Mackinnon

Terique Jarrett

Martina Laird

Pam Fraser Solomon

Andreia Chipa

Angela Hurst

Richard Mulholland

Xinha Morais

Jessica Mensah


Denver Isaac

Ewa Dina

Julene Robinson

Tomas Wright

Simeon Miller

Samuel Sarpong-Broni

Jordi Carter

Jessica Enemokwu

Jeanefer Jean-Charles

Vivienne Rochester

Shakira Newton

Selina Scott-Bennin

Yvonne Newman

Stephanie Lindo


Natisha Williams- Samuels 💜

Tristan Fynn-Aiduenu

Adrian Grant

leee John

Doreene Blackstock

David Clarke

Nicole Raquel Dennis

Indra Ové

Joshua Robinson

Nahum McLean

Robert Hylton

Meesha Turner

Sam Oladeinde

David Mali

Zyna Goldy

Kayla Carter

Jacqui Dubois

Jay Perry

Aisha Jawando

Warren Graham

Darya Papko

Valentine Olukoga

Paul Isaiah Isles

Omar Okai

Dujonna Gift-Simms

Abiola Efunshile

Samuel Nicholas

Amelia Walker

Rhiane Drummond

Casey Al-Shaqsy

Nicholas McLean

Jason Pennycooke

Ahmed Hamad

Gloria Obianyo

Jac O’Kody


Xanthus Peters

Jordan Shaw

Kit Esuruoso

Vanessa Ela Young

Siân Nathaniel-James

Kelly Agbowu

Jocasta Almgill

DeeArna McLean

Jayme-Lee Zanoncelli

Trézel Sergeant

Michael James Stewart

Matthew Xia

Shaq Taylor

Vanessa Fisher

Annemarie Anang

Arun Blair-Mangat

Cameron Bernard Jones

Claudia Kariuki

Ryan Carter

Sign up for our newsletter

Receive email updates, including the latest industry news, opportunities and articles by leading Black talent.

Log in

Agent Details

Air-Edel Associates

+44 207 7486 6466